A Letter to Neil Gaiman (A Pure Imagination Project)

FullSizeRender (9)

(My poor drawing skills don’t make Neil any justice. I deeply apologise)

Dear Neil,

I am here to inform you that you are now part of my Wisdom Street thanks to your remarkable The Graveyard Book volumes 1 and 2. I have yet to read the book, but the graphic novel was superb. Text and illustrations formed a perfect marriage. Stardust was another brilliant treat, followed by The Book of Magic. All those stories were so imaginative and magical. They made my mind soar once again, and they brought back a very old dream of mine of becoming an author. Hopefully as creative as you. What I love the most about the Graveyard Book was the growth of Nobody Owens and all his adventures. And there were so many adventures to be had in the graveyard, so many dear friends and awful foes. It had the feeling I was reading Mark Twain and his Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn. Imagine if those three met – in a world of fanfiction everything is possible, so who knows – and had the best adventure of all times.

I truly want to thank you for making me believe in magic once more, and that old amazing tales of wonderful people doing remarkable things are not dead.  Those selected tales at Unnatural Creatures were also a very special gift, and I would like to thank you one more time for introducing me to new authors whose imaginations equals yours in so many ways.

Most of all, this is a thank you letter. I feel I am almost ready to face the world of creativity and publishing and create my own adventures. Even if I do not succeed in being successful, if I can touch just one reader the way your stories have touched me, I will be incredibly happy.

Sincerely,

Alice

PS 1: For those who are interested, I highly recommend The Graveyard Book.

thegraveyardbookmovie_1335769681

PS 2: If you ever read this, Neil, sorry for being so forward and using your first name. >.<

Leave a Reply

