A Pure Imagination Project – Chapter 01 (The Wisdom Street)

Welcome to my Wisdom Street. I thought long and hard whether this chapter should be drawn with buildings, tall and small, old and new, crazy and old-fashioned. My mind was full of ideas. Straight buildings, crooked houses, Dubai inspired ones… It would have been fantastic, if only I knew how to draw all of what was on my mind that is.

Instead, I have decided to make my street The Wisdom Street, and instead of buildings I  would draw people. It was not easy to choose from such a long list of authors and cartoonists that have inspired me so much over the years… I am still bothered by the fact that I left Mark Twain and Oscar Wilde out. Or the Grimm brothers and Lewis Carroll. It makes my heart even sadder to have left out CHARLES DICKENS. Damn you, Alice. But I am quite happy with those who now live on my street. Here is my amazing list of tenants:

– George Orwell (“In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”)

– Neil Gaiman (“Wherever you go, you take yourself with you.”)

– Shakespeare (“We’re all in the same game; just different levels. Dealing with the same hell; just different devils.”)

– Marjane Satrapi (“All big changes of the world come from words.”)

– Quino (“No es increíble todo lo que puede tener dentro un lápiz?”)

– Fernando Pessoa (“I bear the wounds of all the battles I’ve avoided.”)

– JK Rowling (“We all have magic inside us.”)

– Jane Austen (“It isn’t what we say or think that define us, but what we do.”)

– Agatha Christie (“Time is the best killer.”)

– Andrea Camilleri (“A positive vision is what keep us going despite the misfortunes and set backs that fill our lives. The sole disadvantage is that it stops us to seeing evil.”)

– J RR Tolkien (“Not all those who wander are lost.”)

And here is what the street now looks like:

FullSizeRender (2)

I will be writing about each and every one of them, and why they are so important to me personally. I apologise for my poor cartoon skills. I thought Shakespeare and Fernando Pessoa looked pretty cool. JK Rowling also looks rather pretty. But Neil Gaiman, I am so so sorry. >.< If you ever see this – which I hope you don’t – I promise to draw you better next time.

Leave a Reply

