The Database – A Pure Imagination Project

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/676/62299238/files/2014/12/img_0561.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/676/62299238/files/2014/12/img_0562.jpg

When I was told to think of what kind of world I would like to live in, my mind was instantly taken to a tumblr post that divided the world into fandoms: Supernatural, Game of Thrones, Harry Potter, Sherlock… So I supposed that’s the kind of world I would like to live in: the literature world. A world of words and magic. My perfect world would be like my precious little niece’s, full of wonders and criativity.

I was also told to create a list of things I like and dislike about out current world. I have yet to do it. I have yet to think of things I like and dislike from differents eras in History. That shouldn’t be so hard. And I ought to include things that invoke wonder in me; things I am fascinated by. I will include all of those in another post.

What I did do was write a database, a list of categories with things I love. Books, movies, music, colors, smells, sounds, etc.. These lists were not difficult to write down. What was difficult about them was to decide what things to include and which ones I would be leaving out.

The books category, for example. The first one I wrote without even blinking was Pride and Prejudice. Another one which has been huge in my life is Harry Potter. But there are so many others. Like Andrea Camilleri’s books, and Agatha Christie’s, and many comic books I treasure, such as The Graveyard Book and Persepolis.

I’ve had a problem with movies as well, but one thing I know for sure. The 80s and beginning of the 90s produced, in my view, the best of Hollywood. Or was it Hollywood which produced the best of movies during this period? Oh well… It’s just what I think anyway.

The Database is supposed to be a kind of archive that I can get back to if I ever feel stuck in creating my imaginary world. But they are all part of me, so I don’t think I’ll be referring to them so often. They are all in my heart, and they have made me who I am today in many ways.

So in the end I’ve realised the database is within myself and always will be.

Almost ready to start envisioning my own world and letting my imagination loose.

Care to join me? 😉

Leave a Reply

